

Society for Sex Therapy and Research announces the 2015 SSTAR Consumer Book Award

The goal of the award is to recognize the best recent book for consumers that contributes to the understanding of human sexuality and/or sexual problems.

Nominations are invited for the 2015 SSTAR Consumer Book Award. The award will be announced in December of 2014 and will be presented at the 2015 Annual Meeting in Boston, March 26-29, 2015.

Eligibility Criteria

- 1. Content of the book must be related to human sexuality and/or sexual problems.
- 2. The book must be in English and must have been published in the last three calendar years. It may have multiple authors or be an edited work. Previously submitted books are eligible.

How to Nominate a Book

- 1. Nominations for the Consumer Book Award may come from any individual, organization, or publisher.
- 2. The deadline for submitting nominations is July 1, 2014.
- 3. To nominate a book
 - a. email the committee chairperson, Dr Stephen Snyder -- stephen.snyder@verizon.net with the name, author, publisher, and date of publication of the book, and
 - b. mail copies of the book to each of the following four committee members:

Stephen Snyder, MD (Chairperson) 115 Central Park West, Suite 15 New York, NY 10023

Sara J. S. Mize, PhD Program in Human Sexuality – University of Minnesota 1300 South 2nd Street, Suite 180 Minneapolis, MN 55454 Shirley R. Baron, PhD 405 N. Wabash Ave., Suite 2615 Chicago, IL 60611

Kelly Smith, PhD UBC Sexual Health Lab 2775 Laurel Street, 6th Floor Gordon & Leslie Diamond Health Care Centre Vancouver, BC V5Z 1M9 Canada

THE AWARD

The Society for Sex Therapy and Research (SSTAR) has established the Consumer Book Award to be given to the author(s) or editor(s) of the best work published in English for consumers that contributes to the understanding of human sexuality and/or sexual problems.

Award winners (including multiple authors or each of the editors of an edited book where there is more than one editor) will each be given a plaque, and their names will be listed on the SSTAR Web site and in the Directory of Members. There will be no monetary award.

FREQUENCY

The SSTAR Consumer Book Award is to be given every two years.

THE SELECTION COMMITTEE

The selection committee will consist of three to five SSTAR members. The chair of the committee will be chosen by the Executive Council. The members of the committee will be chosen by the chair in consultation with the Executive Council.

If a member of the committee has published a book that will be considered by the committee, or he or she has any potential conflict of interest related to the book, its authors/editors, or the publisher, that person must absent themselves from deliberations concerning their book.

ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA

- 1. Books may be written/edited by any person and nominated for a SSTAR Book Award without regard to the author's/editor's membership in SSTAR.
- 2. Content of the books must be related to human sexuality and/or sexual problems.
- 3. Books must have been published in the last three calendar years.
- 4. Books must be in English but may have been translated from another language.
- 5. Collections of previously published works are not eligible.
- 6. Authors/editors are eligible regardless of having previously won any book award (including a SSTAR Book Award)
- 7. Books must be readily available from bookstores and public libraries. Self-published books will not be eligible.
- 8. The decision of the selection committee as to whether a book is eligible shall be binding.

CONDITIONS OF THE PRIZES

Any eligible book which is entered for a SSTAR Book Award shall not qualify unless the publisher or author(s)/editor(s) agrees to provide copies of the book at no cost to each member of the selection committee. The chair of the appropriate committee will be responsible for requesting copies from the publisher or author(s)/editor(s).

The SSTAR Consumer Book Award will be given to the winning author(s)/editor(s) in person at the SSTAR Annual Meeting. SSTAR strongly encourages the publishers of the winning book to pay the author/editor expenses involved in attending the SSTAR meeting (including travel, lodging, food, and registration), although authors/editors may do so themselves in whole or in part.

The publisher agrees to include in any advertising for the book that it has been awarded the SSTAR Consumer Book Award.

Publicity directed towards the public and organizations of sexuality professionals announcing the winner of the SSTAR Book Award will be the joint responsibility of SSTAR, the author(s)/editor(s), and the publishers.

SUBMISSION PROCEDURES AND DEADLINES:

- 1. Books received after the final deadline will not be eligible.
- 2. Receipt of submissions will be acknowledged in writing by SSTAR.
- 3. Submitted books will not be returned and will remain the property of the reviewers.

ANNOUNCEMENT OF THE AWARD

- 1. The winner of the SSTAR Consumer Book Award will be announced on the SSTAR website (<u>www.sstarnet.org</u>). At the committee's discretion, one or more of the other nominated books may also be selected for special mention.
- 2. The selection committee will reach its decision in private deliberations. Publishers, authors, and editors should be aware that they will receive no advance notice of the finalists or the winners.

For further information concerning the Consumer Book Award, please contact the chairperson Stephen Snyder, MD 212-875-9800 <u>stephen.snyder@verizon.net</u>

2015 SSTAR Consumer Book Award Committee:

Stephen Snyder, MD (Chair) Shirley R. Baron, PhD Sara J. S. Mize, PhD Kelly Smith, PhD